Well-Timed Words from a Wise Friend

220px-RWS_Tarot_07_Chariot

The Chariot Card:

The flesh is not the enemy of the spirit but it’s vehicle. The spirit is not the enemy of the flesh but its expression.

I’ve been stopping by Equinox Gallery frequently to chat with Alejandro Sifuentes, a master jeweler with 40 years of experience. I have been making work more slowly than usual and with a disturbing lack of focus. I came to him for technical help but the advice he gave me was for my head and heart and not my hands. I have a feeling that there are a lot of us that need to hear this every once in a while.

2 comments
  1. Very wise. Today I worked on a new project with no expectations, after a crazy busy fall. I had the first flash of inspiration in a long time. It reminds me that stress kills creativity. I need more play time.

    • Indeed. Sometimes the best advice is just to get out of your own way!

Leave a Reply

